Willie Jackson’s Newsbites

I’ll be the first one to admit that I don’t watch a lot of Maori TV. But I was intrigued by the sound of Willie Jackson’s new show Newsbites which was on last night. It was the first show of a four part pilot, and the first product completed under the guidance of Maori TVs new executive producer Carol Hirshfield.

I’m a sucker for news analysis. It was the cornerstone of my degree and I still keep up with criticism by listening to Mediawatch on Radio New Zealand, watching Media 7  on TVNZ7, and reading the blogs of people like Russell Brown, Simon Pound and Janet Wilson/Bill Ralston. Add to that, that I’ve always enjoyed the jovial altercations that take place on Eye to Eye and just generally enjoy Willie Jackson’s broadcasting tone (opinionated, yet transparent) and you’ve pretty much got me into a new obsession. For anyone who’s interested it screens on Maori TV (19 on Sky) at 9.30pm on Monday nights and will be there for the next three weeks.

It’s also available on demand from the Maori TV site.

Leave a Reply

